Miles Franklin winner Tara June Winch awarded Prime Ministers Prize

Image: Miles Franklin Foundation

The Miles Franklin, Australia’s most prestigious literary award, was awarded to Wiradjuri author Tara June Winch this year for The Yield, published by Penguin Random House Australia.

Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin, the prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The Yield was described by the judging panel as “haunting and accomplished”.

The author is now the first Indigenous Australian to win both major writing prizes in Australia. It was announced this week that Winch took out the $80,000 fiction category for the 2020 Prime Minister’s Literary award

You can read an excerpt here (provided by Perpetual).